NATURE/FLOWERS/WATER

A Stroll Around My Neighborhood on a Rainy Day and One Lovely Surprise

The place perked up with a good drink of water!

Klara Jane Holloway
4 min readJul 18, 2022

--

large basket of pink and orange petunias
My Petunias. Photo by KJH

It rained all day yesterday, but I decided to go for a walk anyway.

On my front porch, one of my hanging planters became so heavy the hanger broke, and it fell. I had to relocate it to a plant stand. I can’t imagine how these huge flowers survive in their tight, little pot.

I hope this one doesn’t fall, too.

How much longer before they become pot-bound, signaling the end of summer?

It seems like it just arrived.

I only have one neighbor close by, and they have a jubilant yard full of flowers I’ve never seen before.

These orange ones almost resemble a weed.

Does anyone know what that little tree is?

small tree with orange flowers in front
Next door front yard. They have green thumbs! Photo by KJH

Around the corner, I saw this gorgeous tree with fluffy orange flowers.

The owners have no idea what this tree is called.

--

--

Klara Jane Holloway

I write about my experiences in life. Some mundane, some sad, some funny, and hopefully none boring!