MARRIAGE/DIVORCE/LYING

Finding Out Someone You Love Has Been Leading a Double Life

And now I feel like a fool

Klara Jane Holloway
8 min readDec 16, 2022

--

A man looking in a mirror
Photo by Chester wade on Unsplash

I am in total shock!

Recently I wrote an article about my ex-husband and his alcohol abuse. It might help to skim through it to get the most out of this story.

On November 23rd, my ex sent me a sweet, kind email telling me how much he missed “us” and our family and the life we all had together.

He sent a picture of all of us from Thanksgiving in 2010.

Yes, we were one big happy family back then, with no idea our future held the devastating destruction and pain an alcoholic brings to everyone who loves them.

In 2014 my ex became an alcoholic.

After 27 years of marriage, he started to drink uncontrollably. Day and night. He was losing his business, which was a massive blow to his ego and pride.

I did not know this was happening. He kept a near-flawless façade of normalcy.

--

--

Klara Jane Holloway

I write about my experiences in life. Some mundane, some sad, some funny, and hopefully none boring!