How My Other Children Drown in the Shambles of my Daughters Drug Addiction

Klara Jane Holloway
6 min readNov 30, 2021

Addiction is a tragic family disease

My oldest child became a drug addict in her early 20’s. It took us by surprise and changed all of our lives forever.

Photo by Diana Polekhina on Unsplash

27 years later she is still a drug addict. ER for OD’s 12 times.

Hospitalized with myocarditis and pockets of MRSA all through her body. Hard, ropey, overused veins on her arms with multiple scars.

Could not walk. Spent 2 months in a nursing home for physical rehab.

Back to drugs a month later.

She, I’ll refer to her as #1, had a “clean” spell of 10 years where she got married and had 2 children. Then dumped her husband for a nasty loser of a guy and abandoned my grand daughter at age 12 and my grandson at age 6. Someday I’ll write a book about all her antics including showing up at my moms assisted living facility at 2AM and convincing the staff to let her in saying her grandmother called her to please come. Taking full advantage of their kindness, and my mother's dementia, she proceeded to rob her blind. The next day my mom said she didn’t remember calling my daughter. (Of course she didn’t call her!!)Then tells me she thinks someone stole $50 from her! Can you go too much lower? Actually, #1 has. This is just a simple synopsis. I’m here…

--

--

Klara Jane Holloway

I write about my experiences in life. Some mundane, some sad, some funny, and hopefully none boring!