How Reading More Stories and Writing Less Has Improved My Earnings

Sometimes you need to give more than you take

Klara Jane Holloway
3 min readJan 7, 2022
https://www.gettyimages.com/detail/news-photo

There is so much to be learned from other writers on Medium. If you get wrapped up in producing stories constantly and don’t draw from this wealth of information you will end up like I was.

Flat.

At a standstill.

Wondering if I just needed to quit.

So, I sat for 2 days and did nothing but read articles. Six hours each day. My eyeballs throbbed like a paper cut.

I came away with a feeling of inadequacy.

I have not earned my stripes.

I realized I’m low-hanging fruit on Medium.

The talent on here is gigantic.

I have a long way to go.

I kept asking other members questions about how to do things. Dumb questions. (I know….there are no DUMB questions but we ALL know that is NOT true!) I have been quite clueless on many aspects of writing on this platform. And, yes, I have read the Medium Help Stuff but I’m a slow learner. I like to hear from other writers. They make it sound much easier. And they have been wonderful to me. I probably got on their nerves but they were too nice to tell me. Thanks, guys.

--

--

Klara Jane Holloway

I write about my experiences in life. Some mundane, some sad, some funny, and hopefully none boring!