--

I'm a nurse and I had to take my turn several years working Christmas Eve. My dad would be upset. I told him if he had a heart attack on Christmas and the hospital was closed he would die. Think about it. Some professions HAVE to work Christmas Eve and Christmas Day. Police, firemen, Ambulance crews, many hospital personnel. The day is 24 hours long. A normal work shift is 8 hours. That leaves 16 hours to enjoy the holiday with your family. Maybe a family needs to make some adjustments for the good of all mankind. The spirit of Christmas. Being without a police presence, a fire department, a hospital for any length of time ..that would, and could, be disastrous.

--

--

Klara Jane Holloway

I write about my experiences in life. Some mundane, some sad, some funny, and hopefully none boring!