My Daughter Has Been Found and She’s Alive

Warning: Do not read if you have a judgmental, mean comment. I’ve had my fill of heartache for now.

Klara Jane Holloway
5 min readDec 27, 2021

This is a continuation of a story I posted on Christmas Day:

No One Has Heard From My Daughter For 9 Days

Today, December 27th: The Good News

Her grandfather and I were taking my granddaughter to the last place she knew her mom had been staying. A Red Roof Inn in a seedy area in a city an hour and a half away. She thought she could find her mom and we just wanted to take care of the poor girl’s heart. We knew it was probably futile. We were leaving at 9:30AM.

Then, my daughter called my granddaughter today at 9AM. She’s been in the ICU at a hospital an hour away since December 18th.

Of course, I’m glad she’s alive. But couldn’t she somehow have notified us in the last 10 days? Over Christmas? Her two children worried sick? All of us with that bad, fearful feeling that families of addicts get when they don’t hear from them, or know where they are, for a long period of time.

--

--

Klara Jane Holloway

I write about my experiences in life. Some mundane, some sad, some funny, and hopefully none boring!