My Mother Should Have Protected Me From My Uncles Sexual Advances

This is why kids don’t “tell” on their abusers.

Klara Jane Holloway
5 min readApr 11, 2022
girl with finger by mouth to shush
Photo by Kristina Flour on Unsplash

“I dream about coming into your bedroom at night and laying my head on your pussy to snuggle.”

My uncle said this one night when I was staying at his home with my aunt, and two adult cousins in the summer of 1969.

I was 15 years old.

Do you think I was scared?

You bet I was.

Because that was just one of many things he said and did to me that summer.

Since you’re blond is your hair down there black? Can I see it?

Do you let boyfriends put their fingers in your pussy?

Can I lick you down there in the backseat of the truck?

It was the summer of 1969. I lived in Ohio but my parents sent me to stay with my aunt and uncle in Alabama.

Why? I’m not really sure.

I think they thought I would enjoy myself because he owned horses and I loved them.

You hear the stories of kids sexually molested by priests, coaches, uncles, etc.

--

--

Klara Jane Holloway

I write about my experiences in life. Some mundane, some sad, some funny, and hopefully none boring!