LOVE/RELATIONSHIPS

Never Stop Bringing Me Flowers

My heart smiles every time

Klara Jane Holloway
3 min readJun 15, 2024

--

Pink roses
Photo by Marek Studzinski on Unsplash

Once you knew my favorite color was pink, you began to bring me bouquets of every kind of pink flower available. You even had the florist import more pink flowers in shapes and sizes I had never seen.

Dahlias, sweet peas, cosmos, and calla lilies are always in pink vases when you arrive at my door. Somehow, you found out gardenias are my favorite flower. Maybe because I told you I used to wear “Jungle Gardenia” perfume until they stopped making it. I never knew gardenias came in a pale pink hue. Their message to a woman is, “You’re lovely.” They signify joy and purity. Gardenias evoke a sentiment of true and faithful romance. The delicate and feminine fragrance is intoxicating. They are fragile, like love.

Love is the goal here for you and me. We loved as young people but made enough mistakes to watch that love die. For both, it was a long, drawn-out, painful death that hurt many people besides ourselves. The repercussions follow us, and negative remarks about being fools and believing in love are whispered in our subconscious.

Now we are in our 60s. The game of love is very different. The dynamics are more complicated. Your children, my children. Your money, my money. Your faith, my faith. Once you’ve been around…

--

--

Klara Jane Holloway

I write about my experiences in life. Some mundane, some sad, some funny, and hopefully none boring!