The Drama, Difficulty, and Drawbacks of Moving to a 55 and Older Community

A great amount of thought and effort goes into this decision.

Klara Jane Holloway
6 min readDec 4, 2021
A picture of the author in a blue dress and black leather jacket. She is smiling.
Author today.

It’s hard to know where to start. Or even explain my many motives to move to an over 55 community. But this process of moving has become a really difficult task!

For starters I’m not moving to just any 55 and older community but an actual retirement community. This is a Life Plan Community.

What is a Life Plan Community: A Life Plan Community (LPC) is a senior living community (55 and older in my case) that offers tiered lifestyle and healthcare options all including independent living, assisted living, and skilled nursing as well as memory care. They provide social events and activity options to older adults through comprehensive services and amenities.

Presently I live in a 2 story condo. It’s lovely. But, I need a total knee replacement. So, I feel I need a ranch style home. I’m 67 and retired. I don’t want to buy another condo (ranch style) when I know I may need more help as I age and I can get a beautiful ranch home at a nearby LPC that’s very affordable. But here's the difference. You technically “own” a condo if you buy it. At the LPC you do not own the home. It’s not like a rental. It’s much more personal and tailored to your tastes…

--

--

Klara Jane Holloway

I write about my experiences in life. Some mundane, some sad, some funny, and hopefully none boring!