Klara Jane Holloway
1 min readDec 27, 2021

--

Yes. Retired. Healthy now but one never knows. I can understand men feeling that way. Especially if they went through a divorce and feel like they don't want a repeat of that. I have planned ahead. I have a ranch home in a 55 and older LifePlan community being refurbished to my tastes right now. I'll be moving in a few months. This community is one you buy into and pay monthly, almost like long-term care insurance. It's a condo community but maintenance-free. Literally. If my dishwasher breaks they fix or replace it. They will even come and change a light bulb for you if you want.

If I eventually need assisted living, they move me to those apartments in another close by community. If I need rehab, memory care, or skilled nursing, they have all that too. Once you are in and accepted, you are IN. One of theirs. If you run out of money they help with Medicaid or use a benevolence fund to keep you for life. I told my kids I was doing this for them. And BTW, they do not take all your money. I have my 401K and a lot of savings left after I buy in. My kids will get that if I don't live long enough to use it up.

And I can leave within 7 years and still get some money back....just in case I meet my man and he doesn't want to live there!

Sorry for this long comment!! Thanks for your patience.

--

--

Klara Jane Holloway

I write about my experiences in life. Some mundane, some sad, some funny, and hopefully none boring!